Advisory Council

The Delaware Cancer Consortium was originally formed as the Delaware Advisory Council on Cancer Incidence and Mortality in March 2001 in response to Senate Joint Resolution 2 signed by Governor Ruth Ann Minner.

The Council’s role

The advisory council, consisting of 15 members appointed by the governor, was established to advise the governor and legislature on the causes of cancer incidence and mortality and potential methods for reducing both.

The advisory council was later expanded and its name changed to the Delaware Cancer Consortium (DCC) in SB102. The Advisory Council continues on as a sort of steering committee for the consortium.


  • Governor John C. Carney, Jr.
  • Stephen Grubbs, M.D.
  • The Honorable Bethany Hall-Long, PhD
  • The Honorable David Bentz
  • Patricia Hoge, PhD
  • The Honorable Ruth Briggs King
  • The Honorable Kara Odom-Walker
  • Meg Maley, RN, BSN
  • The Honorable David McBride
  • The Honorable Shawn Garvin
  • Nicholas Petrelli, M.D.
  • Rishi Sawhney, M.D.
  • James Spellman, M.D.

Upcoming Meetings

Dates and Times:
Monday, January 8, 2018, 8:30 a.m.–10 a.m.
The Outlook at the Duncan Center
500 West Loockerman Street
Dover, DE 19901
5th Floor Meeting Rooms
To Top